Monday, July 15, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

The 2024 Oscar winners list

Jevon Phillips – Los Angeles Times (TNS)

The 96th Academy Awards were awarded Sunday night at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, though they were delayed by protests calling for a cease-fire in the Israel-Hamas war.

“Oppenheimer” took home many of the top awards, including best picture, director (Christopher Nolan) and lead actor (Cillian Murphy) while “Poor Things” was also a multiple-award winner. Screenplay awards were given to “American Fiction” and “Anatomy of a Fall,” while the first Oscar of the night went to supporting actress Da’Vine Joy Randolph for “The Holdovers.”

The winners at the 2024 Oscars:

Best picture

Oppenheimer” — Emma Thomas, Charles Roven and Christopher Nolan | WINNER

American Fiction” — Ben LeClair, Nikos Karamigios, Cord Jefferson and Jermaine Johnson

Anatomy of a Fall” — Marie-Ange Luciani and David Thion

Barbie” — David Heyman, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley and Robbie Brenner

The Holdovers” — Mark Johnson

Killers of the Flower Moon” — Dan Friedkin, Bradley Thomas, Martin Scorsese and Daniel Lupi

Maestro” — Bradley Cooper, Steven Spielberg, Fred Berner, Amy Durning and Kristie Macosko Krieger

Past Lives” — David Hinojosa, Christine Vachon and Pamela Koffler

Poor Things” — Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Yorgos Lanthimos and Emma Stone

The Zone of Interest” — James Wilson


Christopher Nolan (“Oppenheimer”) | WINNER

Jonathan Glazer (“The Zone of Interest”)

Yorgos Lanthimos (“Poor Things”)

Martin Scorsese (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)

Justine Triet (“Anatomy of a Fall”)

Best actor

Cillian Murphy (“Oppenheimer”) | WINNER

Bradley Cooper (“Maestro”)

Colman Domingo (“Rustin”)

Paul Giamatti (“The Holdovers”)

Jeffrey Wright (“American Fiction”)

Best actress

Emma Stone (“Poor Things”) | WINNER

Lily Gladstone (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)

Annette Bening (“Nyad”)

Sandra Hüller (“Anatomy of a Fall”)

Carey Mulligan (“Maestro”)

Supporting actor

Robert Downey Jr. (“Oppenheimer”) | WINNER 

Sterling K. Brown (“American Fiction”)

Robert De Niro (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)

Ryan Gosling (“Barbie”)

Mark Ruffalo (“Poor Things”)

Supporting actress

Da’Vine Joy Randolph (“The Holdovers”) | WINNER 

Emily Blunt (“Oppenheimer”)

Danielle Brooks (“The Color Purple”)

America Ferrera (“Barbie”)

Jodie Foster (“Nyad”)

Live-action short film

“The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar” — Wes Anderson and Steven Rales | WINNER

“The After” — Misan Harriman and Nicky Bentham

“Invincible” — Vincent René-Lortie and Samuel Caron

“Knight of Fortune” — Lasse Lyskjær Noer and Christian Norlyk

“Red, White and Blue” — Nazrin Choudhury and Sara McFarlane


“The Zone of Interest” — Tarn Willers and Johnnie Burn | WINNER

“The Creator” — Ian Voigt, Erik Aadahl, Ethan Van der Ryn, Tom Ozanich and Dean Zupancic

“Maestro” — Steven A. Morrow, Richard King, Jason Ruder, Tom Ozanich and Dean Zupancic

“Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning Part One” — Chris Munro, James H. Mather, Chris Burdon and Mark Taylor

“Oppenheimer” — Willie Burton, Richard King, Gary A. Rizzo and Kevin O’Connell

Original score

“Oppenheimer” — Ludwig Göransson | WINNER

“American Fiction” — Laura Karpman

“Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny” — John Williams

“Killers of the Flower Moon” — Robbie Robertson

“Poor Things” — Jerskin Fendrix

Original song

“What Was I Made For?” from “Barbie” — Music and lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell | WINNER

“The Fire Inside” from “Flamin’ Hot” — Music and lyric by Diane Warren

“I’m Just Ken” from “Barbie” — Music and lyric by Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt

“It Never Went Away” from “American Symphony” — Music and lyric by Jon Batiste and Dan Wilson

“Wahzhazhe (A Song For My People)” from “Killers of the Flower Moon” — Music and lyric by Scott George

Visual effects

“Godzilla Minus One” — Takashi Yamazaki, Kiyoko Shibuya, Masaki Takahashi and Tatsuji Nojima | WINNER 

“The Creator” — Jay Cooper, Ian Comley, Andrew Roberts and Neil Corbould

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3” — Stephane Ceretti, Alexis Wajsbrot, Guy Williams and Theo Bialek

“Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One” — Alex Wuttke, Simone Coco, Jeff Sutherland and Neil Corbould

“Napoleon” — Charley Henley, Luc-Ewen Martin-Fenouillet, Simone Coco and Neil Corbould

Film editing

“Oppenheimer” — Jennifer Lame | WINNER

“Anatomy of a Fall” — Laurent Sénéchal

“The Holdovers” — Kevin Tent

“Killers of the Flower Moon” — Thelma Schoonmaker

“Poor Things” — Yorgos Mavropsaridis

Documentary short film

“The Last Repair Shop”— Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers | WINNER

“The ABCs of Book Banning” — Sheila Nevins and Trish Adlesic

“The Barber of Little Rock” — John Hoffman and Christine Turner

“Island in Between” — S. Leo Chiang and Jean Tsien

“Nai Nai & Wài Pó” — Sean Wang and Sam Davis

Documentary feature

20 Days in Mariupol” — Mstyslav Chernov, Michelle Mizner and Raney Aronson-Rath | WINNER

Bobi Wine: The People’s President” — Moses Bwayo, Christopher Sharp and John Battsek

“The Eternal Memory” — Maite Alberdi

“Four Daughters” — Kaouther Ben Hania and Nadim Cheikhrouha

“To Kill a Tiger” — Nisha Pahuja, Cornelia Principe and David Oppenheim


“Oppenheimer” — Hoyte van Hoytema | WINNER

“El Conde”— Edward Lachman

“Killers of the Flower Moon”— Rodrigo Prieto

“Maestro” — Matthew Libatique

“Poor Things” — Robbie Ryan

Animated short film

“War Is Over! Inspired by the Music of John & Yoko” — Dave Mullins and Brad Booker | WINNER

“Letter to a Pig” — Tal Kantor and Amit R. Gicelter

“Ninety-Five Senses” — Jerusha Hess and Jared Hess

“Our Uniform” — Yegane Moghaddam

“Pachyderme” — Stéphanie Clément and Marc Rius

Animated feature film

The Boy and the Heron” — Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki | WINNER 

Elemental” — Peter Sohn and Denise Ream

Nimona” — Nick Bruno, Troy Quane, Karen Ryan and Julie Zackary

“Robot Dreams” — Pablo Berger, Ibon Cormenzana, Ignasi Estapé and Sandra Tapia Díaz

Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse ” — Kemp Powers, Justin K. Thompson, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and Amy Pascal

Original screenplay

“Anatomy of a Fall” — Justine Triet, Arthur Harar | WINNER 

“The Holdovers” — David Hemingson

“Maestro” — Bradley Cooper, Josh Singer

“May December” — Samy Burch, Alex Mechanik

“Past Lives” — Celine Song

Adapted screenplay

“American Fiction” — Cord Jefferson | WINNER 

“Barbie” — Greta Gerwig, Noah Baumbach

“Oppenheimer” — Christopher Nolan

“Poor Things” — Tony McNamara

“The Zone of Interest” — Jonathan Glazer

Makeup and hairstyling

“Poor Things” — Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston | WINNER 

“Golda” — Karen Hartley Thomas, Suzi Battersby and Ashra Kelly-Blue

“Maestro” — Kazu Hiro, Kay Georgiou and Lori McCoy-Bell

“Oppenheimer” — Luisa Abel

“Society of the Snow” — Ana López-Puigcerver, David Martí and Montse Ribé

Production design

“Poor Things” — Production design: James Price and Shona Heath; Set decoration: Zsuzsa Mihalek | WINNER

“Barbie” — Production design: Sarah Greenwood; Set decoration: Katie Spencer

“Killers of the Flower Moon” — Production design: Jack Fisk; Set decoration: Adam Willis

“Napoleon” — Production design: Arthur Max; Set decoration: Elli Griff

“Oppenheimer” — Production design: Ruth De Jong; Set decoration: Claire Kaufman

Costume design

“Poor Things” — Holly Waddington | WINNER

“Barbie” — Jacqueline Durran

“Killers of the Flower Moon” — Jacqueline West

“Napoleon” — Janty Yates and Dave Crossman

“Oppenheimer” — Ellen Mirojnick

International feature film

The Zone of Interest,” United Kingdom | WINNER

“Io Capitano,” Italy

Perfect Days,” Japan

Society of the Snow,” Spain

The Teachers’ Lounge,” Germany

©2024 Los Angeles Times. Visit Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

This article has been viewed


Popular Articles